2020 European Masters (2) – draw and format

WST have published the draw and format for this season European Masters:

The draw and format for the 2020 European Masters world ranking event is now available.

Click here for the draw

Click here for the format

The tournament will run from September 21 to 27 at the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes. All 128 players will start in round one. Matches will be best of nine frames up to and including the quarter-finals, best of 11 for the semi-finals and best of 17 for the final on September 27.

At 7pm on the opening day, world number one Judd Trump’s first round opponent will be Ukrainian prodigy Iulian Boiko, the youngest ever pro player who turns 15 the following day.

Defending champion Neil Robertson has been drawn against Thailand’s Sunny Akani in the first round, while World Champion Ronnie O’Sullivan will be up against Daniel Wells.

The event will receive extensive coverage on Eurosport, with details of further broadcasters to be announced soon.

Prize money
Winner: £80,000
Runner-up: £35,000
Semi-finals: £17,500
Quarter-finals: £11,000
Last 16: £6,000
Last 32: £4,000
Last 64: £3,000
High break: £5,000
Total: £407,000

Ronnie will play his first-rond match on Tuesday, 22 September at 7pm.

Young Iulian Boiko faces some start in his professional career: he’s facing Judd Trump in his first ever pro match, and his first opponent in the CLS the next week will be Ronnie.

There are a few interesting matches in the first round, unfortunately most of them likely to be played away from the cameras. Here are my picks:

  • Antoni Kowalski v Sean Maddocks
  • James Cahill v Elliot Slessor
  • Zhou Yuelong v Alexander Ursenbacher
  • Jamie Wilson v Simon Lichtenberg
  • Stuart Bingham v Louis Heathcote (that one may actually be on TV)
  • John Higgins v Martin Gould (will likely be on TV)
  • Jamie Clarke v Ricky Walden
  • Lei Peifan v Joe O’Connor



3 thoughts on “2020 European Masters (2) – draw and format

  1. Hi Monique, does that mean Ronnie and Judd will be seeded in the same half for every tournament except when J s defending champion ?. Hope that makes sense. Thanks B

Comments are closed.