The full line-up for the 2020 World Championship has been revealed

WST published this a couple of hours ago:

The full list of players for the 2020 Betfred World Championship is now available.

The qualifying rounds will feature 128 players, all battling for one of 16 coveted spots at the Crucible Theatre. The qualifying event will run from July 21 to 28 at the English Institute of Sport in Sheffield. The draw will be available this week.

The 16 winners then go through to the Crucible to meet the top 16 seeds, for the main event which runs from July 31 to August 16.

Several players ranked outside the top 16 decided not to enter the qualifying event (read more on that here) and they have been replaced as follows:

  • The eight players competing in the Challenge Tour Play-Off event, to be staged on July 20.
  • The top eight players from the 2019 Q School ranking list.
  • Players invited by the WPBSA.

Full list of players, in seeding order:

1. Judd Trump

2. Neil Robertson

3. Mark Williams

4. Mark Allen

5. John Higgins

6. Ronnie O’Sullivan

7. Mark Selby

8. Kyren Wilson

9. Stephen Maguire

10. Shaun Murphy

11. Ding Junhui

12. David Gilbert

13. Jack Lisowski

14. Stuart Bingham

15. Barry Hawkins

16. Yan Bingtao

17. Joe Perry

18. Ali Carter

19. Gary Wilson

20. Thepchaiya Un-Nooh

21. Graeme Dott

22. Scott Donaldson

23. Jimmy Robertson

24. Michael Holt

25. Tom Ford

26. Matthew Selt

27. Lyu Haotian

28. Matthew Stevens

29. Mark Davis

30. Martin O’Donnell

31. Liang Wenbo

32. Hossein Vafaei

33. Ryan Day

34. Luca Brecel

35. Ben Woollaston

36. Anthony McGill

37. Ricky Walden

38. Noppon Saengkham

39. Kurt Maflin

40. Stuart Carrington

41. Mark King

42. Robert Milkins

43. Anthony Hamilton

44. Chris Wakelin

45. Lu Ning

46. Daniel Wells

47. Alan McManus

48. Tian Pengfei

49. Sunny Akani

50. Robbie Williams

51. Andrew Higginson

52. Liam Highfield

53. Martin Gould

54. Sam Craigie

55. Michael Georgiou

56. Ken Doherty

57. Luo Honghao

58. Joe O’Connor

59. Michael White

60. Mark Joyce

61. Jak Jones

62. Elliot Slessor

63. Fergal O’Brien

64. Craig Steadman

65. Jordan Brown

66. Alfie Burden

67. Mike Dunn

68. Sam Baird

69. John Astley

70. Nigel Bond

71. Lee Walker

72. Oliver Lines

73. Ian Burns

74. Ashley Carty

75. Harvey Chandler

76. David Grace

77. Dominic Dale

78. Alexander Ursenbacher

79. Louis Heathcote

80. Jamie Clarke

81. Mitchell Mann

82. Kishan Hirani

83. Chen Feilong

84. Fan Zhengyi

85. Hammad Miah

86. Jackson Page

87. Si Jiahui

88. Thor Chuan Leong

89. Gerard Greene

90. Soheil Vahedi

91. Eden Sharav

92. Igor Figueiredo

93. James Cahill

94. Kacper Filipiak

95. Adam Stefanow

96. Billy Castle

97. Barry Pinches

98. Rod Lawler

99. David Lilley

100. Brandon Sargeant

101. Simon Lichtenberg

102. Jamie O’Neill

103. Duane Jones

104. Peter Lines

105. Fraser Patrick

106. Jimmy White

107. Andy Hicks

108. Amine Amiri

109. Alex Borg

110. Riley Parsons

111. Ashley Hugill

112. Lukas Kleckers

113. Andrew Pagett

114. Aaron Hill

115. Ross Bulman

116. Iulian Boiko

117. Sean Maddocks

118. Reanne Evans

119. Dylan Emery

120. Ross Muir

121. Dean Young

122. Ben Mertens

123. Wu Yize

124. Hayden Staniland

125. Brian Ochoiski

126. Connor Benzey

127. Adam Duffy

128. Oliver Brown

129. Allan Taylor

130. Patrick Whelan

131. Rory McLeod

132. Jake Nicholson

133. Tyler Rees

134. Ian Preece

135. Paul Davison

136. Hamza Akbar

137. Chae Ross

138. Christopher Keogan

139. Robin Hull

140. Sydney Wilson

141. Daniel Womersley

142. Florian Nuessle

143. Antoni Kowalski

144. Ivan Kakovskii

Fans anywhere in the world will be able to watch the qualifying rounds on Eurosport, Eurosport Player, online broadcasters in China or (in all other territories) FREE on Matchroom Live.

No real surprise there. Other than the Asian players that we already knew would be missing and Steve Misfud who didn’t show up for the whole season, every player has entered the championship. We have 34 amateurs in the draw. I have put them in blue.

26 countries are represented. For the first time we will have a player from Morocco, Amine Amiri, from France, Brian Ochoiski and from Ukraine, Iulian Boiko.

The youngest player is just 14, the oldest player is 58.

Unfortunately there is just one female player in the draw, Reanne Evans.

The draw will be published later this week.

Remember that the format is different this year:

Round one: The players seeded 81-144 play each other with the 32 winners going into Round Two. The matches are best of 11.
Round Two: those 32 winners will face players seeded 49-80. The matches are best of 11.
Round Three: those 32 winners will face players seeded 17-48. The matches are best of 11.
Round Four: those 32 winners play each other, with the 16 winners going through to the Crucible to face the top 16 seeds. The matches are best of 19.

A very theoretical “Judgement Day” (Round 4) could look like this

Joe Perry v Tian Pengfei
Ali Carter v Alan McManus
Gary Wilson v Daniel Wells
Thepchaiya Un-Nooh v Lu Ning
Graeme Dott v Chris Wakelin
Scott Donaldson v Anthony Hamilton
Jimmy Robertson v Robert Milkins
Michael Holt v Mark King
Tom Ford Stuart Carrington
Matthew Selt v Kurt Maflin
Lyu Haotian v Noppon Saengkham
Matthew Stevens v Ricky Walden
Mark Davis v Anthony McGill
Martin O’Donnell v Ben Woollaston
Liang Wenbo v Luca Brecel
Hossein Vafaei v Ryan Day

3 thoughts on “The full line-up for the 2020 World Championship has been revealed

  1. I am a little surprised to see Amine Amiri, Hamza Akbar and Wu Yize in the draw. I assume Hamza and Wu are here primarily for Q School anyway and have VISAs and travel/accommodation arrangements in place.

    I am also puzzled why they appear to have seeded the amateurs. How did they come up with this? If they use that for the draw, then the draw is implicitly decided according to the normal algorithm (e.g. Boiko will play Borg, with the winner playing Highfield, etc.). If they are going to scramble the amateurs, then there was no point in ‘seeding’ them.

    Anyway, some of the ‘Judgement Day’ matches look very tough to call, particularly Liang-Brecel. Both players looked good recently. Outside of those 32, there are only a handful of other players that look dangerous. But of course everyone is vulnerable under the current situation.

Comments are closed.